Politics & Governance / Pakistan

PM Shehbaz announces Rs300bn Chaman-Karachi highway and five Daanish schools in Balochistan

On 8 January 2026 PM Shehbaz Sharif announced a Rs300bn Chaman-Karachi highway, five Daanish schools and a wider Balochistan push from Quetta.

A view of Jinnah Road in Quetta after a snowfall, with cars and shops along a wide central boulevard and low mountains in the background
ARCHIVAL CONTEXT Jinnah Road in central Quetta, the main artery that runs through the provincial capital where Prime Minister Shehbaz Sharif met Governor Jaffar Khan Mandokhel and Chief Minister Sarfraz Bugti on 8 January 2026 to announce a multi-billion-rupee development push for Balochistan. The photograph was taken after snowfall on Jinnah Road and identifies the city, but does not depict the prime minister's visit. Photo: Ajmalahmedkhan on Wikimedia Commons, CC BY-SA 3.0. Downloaded without modification; original is 896 × 592 pixels.

What happened on 8 January 2026

Prime Minister Shehbaz Sharif travelled to Quetta on Thursday 8 January 2026 and used meetings with Governor Jaffar Khan Mandokhel, Chief Minister Mir Sarfraz Bugti and the provincial political leadership to announce a multi-billion-rupee development push for Balochistan. The state broadcaster Radio Pakistan reported that the premier unveiled five new Daanish Schools in the province, a Rs300 billion Chaman–Karachi (N-25) highway, and a fresh commitment that funds continue to flow under the National Finance Commission (NFC) award with Balochistan’s share intact. Dawn reported the same package of announcements from a parallel press conference in Quetta and added the prime minister’s wider remarks on provincial cooperation and counter-terrorism coordination.

The development package

The headline infrastructure commitment is the Chaman–Karachi highway on the N-25 alignment, costed at Rs300 billion. The corridor links Balochistan’s western border town of Chaman to Karachi via Quetta and is the main road artery through the province; its upgrade to a four-lane configuration has been on provincial wish lists for several years because the existing alignment constrains trade with Afghanistan and movement between Karachi and the western districts. Radio Pakistan’s report of the announcement set the cost at Rs300 billion and named the alignment N-25; The News Today — citing its own pool in Quetta — said the prime minister would lay the foundation stone of the N-25 and formally inaugurate Daanish School campuses during the visit.

Education was the second pillar. The premier announced five new Daanish Schools in Balochistan, modelled on the residential public schools that Shehbaz Sharif set up in Punjab in 2010 when he was chief minister of that province. Dawn carried the same announcement and added the rationale that the schools were intended, in the prime minister’s words, “to lead to a decline in terrorist elements taking root in the province.” Radio Pakistan’s release gave the same figure of five schools without specifying locations.

Federalism and the NFC award

The Quetta speech doubled as a federalism address. Shehbaz Sharif used the platform to recap a 16-year-old fiscal compact under which Punjab has, since the 2010 NFC award, transferred Rs11 billion a year from its own share to Balochistan. He put the cumulative total at “nearly Rs200bn” over sixteen years. Dawn carried his full line — “Punjab cut Rs11bn a year from its share and sent it to Balochistan” — and explained that the 2010 arrangement had been negotiated after then-Balochistan chief minister Nawab Aslam Raisani refused to sign the award unless the province received a 100 per cent increase in resources. The Nation, a separate allowlisted daily, independently confirmed the same Rs11 billion annual figure and the same Raisani backstory.

Radio Pakistan’s release added a third fiscal line item: the $400 million received from the World Bank is being deployed for rehabilitation of flood-affected areas of Balochistan. Dawn’s story did not include the World Bank figure; the gap is itself a useful indicator that the federal and provincial press pools captured overlapping but not identical portions of the same set of announcements.

Security and counter-terrorism coordination

The visit also had a security track. The News Today said the prime minister chaired a high-level meeting to review the law and order situation in Balochistan before turning to the development announcements, and that the meeting was attended by Chief Minister Sarfraz Bugti, federal ministers Ahsan Iqbal, Aleem Khan and Rana Sanaullah, and prominent political leaders from Balochistan. Dawn and Radio Pakistan both reported that the premier, in his remarks to the political leadership, called for continuing counter-terrorism operations against what the state terms Fitna-al-Khawarij — the official designation for the banned Tehreek-i-Taliban Pakistan — and credited Chief of Defence Forces Field Marshal Asim Munir with leading that effort. The prime minister also said Pakistan had, in the May 2025 military confrontation with India, “taught India a lesson it will never forget.”

A separate press conference in Quetta the same day from Balochistan’s Counter-Terrorism Department underlined the security backdrop the prime minister’s visit was operating against. Dawn reported that CTD Deputy Inspector General Aitzaz Goraya told reporters in Quetta that terrorists were using the platform of the Balochistan Yakjehti Committee (BYC) to recruit young people into militant networks, and that an 18-year-old arrested in Panjgur had been “first inducted into BYC, then he went into BLA” — the Balochistan Liberation Army, the proscribed group that has staged a string of attacks on security personnel and civilian infrastructure since 2024. The CTD DIG also disclosed that the Provincial Counter-Terrorism Assessment Centre (Piftac) had been fully functional since December 2025.

What was verifiable on the day

The eight anchor facts that were independently supported by at least two allowlisted outlets on 8 January 2026 are: (1) the visit itself, reported by Radio Pakistan, Dawn, The Nation, The News Today and the DNA wire; (2) the Rs300 billion Chaman–Karachi (N-25) highway, reported by Radio Pakistan, The News Today and the DNA wire; (3) the five new Daanish Schools, reported by Radio Pakistan, Dawn and the DNA wire; (4) the Rs11 billion annual Punjab-to-Balochistan NFC transfer since 2010, reported by Dawn and The Nation; (5) the chief minister’s claim of 100 per cent utilisation of the development budget, reported by Radio Pakistan and the DNA wire; (6) the prime minister’s reference to Field Marshal Asim Munir and the May 2025 India conflict, reported by Dawn and The Nation; (7) the World Bank $400 million flood-rehabilitation figure, reported only by Radio Pakistan and the DNA wire; and (8) the CTD’s Panjgur arrest and BYC recruitment claim, reported by Dawn.

What remained unclear on 8 January 2026

Several details were not pinned down by the day-end coverage and remained open as the prime minister’s Quetta programme continued. The locations of the five new Daanish Schools in Balochistan were not specified by any outlet on 8 January; The News Today said campuses would be inaugurated during the visit without naming them. The funding split on the Rs300 billion Chaman–Karachi highway — between the federal Public Sector Development Programme, the National Highway Authority, the Balochistan government, and any external financing — was not disclosed in the day-of releases. The phasing of construction work on the N-25, including the target completion year and any interim target dates, was likewise not in the published coverage.

The CTD press conference raised questions it did not answer. The allegation that the BYC platform had been used to route a specific 18-year-old, identified in the Dawn report as Bezan, into the BLA was a single-source attribution from the CTD DIG and was not corroborated by an independent voice on the day; the BYC’s response, if any, was not in the published coverage. The operational status of Piftac, which the CTD DIG said had been “fully functional since December,” did not have a publicly accessible record on 8 January.

The prime minister’s broader claim that “Fitna al-Khawarij gets support from foreign countries” was a familiar formulation that did not, in the published coverage, name a specific country, organisation or recent incident. Two days earlier, on 6 January 2026, the Director General of the Inter-Services Public Relations had used the same phrase in an Islamabad press conference, and the parallel language should be read as part of an established government line rather than a fresh attribution.

Editorial note

KhabarWire’s coverage of the prime minister’s 8 January 2026 Quetta visit is anchored in the four contemporaneous reports cited below. Two of those reports — Radio Pakistan and the DNA wire distributed through centreline.com.pk — are statements from the federal and provincial press pools, respectively; the two independent reports are Dawn’s and The Nation’s editorially separate coverage. The News Today, which gave the most complete list of attendees and the schedule of events, was used to cross-check the visit programme and not as the sole source for any material claim. The Nation and Dawn agreed on the headline numbers even where their phrasing differed, which is why they appear as the two independent outlets below; The News Today and the DNA wire are listed as supplementary sources.

Sources & reporting notes

This article is a synthesis of published material released on 8 January 2026, the day of the events described, not eyewitness reporting. Sources were reviewed on 8 January 2026.

  1. Primary source — Radio Pakistan: "PM announces to initiate several development projects in Balochistan"Published 8 January 2026 · The federal state broadcaster's release confirming the Rs300bn Chaman-Karachi highway, five Daanish Schools, Rs11bn NFC transfer and $400m World Bank figure.
  2. Independent source — Dawn: "In Quetta, PM Shehbaz stresses 'brotherhood and cooperation' with provinces, especially those facing challenges"Published 8 January 2026 · Pakistan's paper of record's separate editorial coverage of the same event, including the prime minister's full remarks on federalism, counter-terrorism and the May 2025 India conflict.
  3. Second independent source — The Nation: "PM Shehbaz vows to eliminate terrorism, announces major development projects for Balochistan"Published 8 January 2026 · A separate allowlisted daily's independent coverage, corroborating the Rs11bn NFC transfer and the Field Marshal Asim Munir reference.
  4. Supplementary source — The News Today: "PM Shehbaz reviews security, development projects during Quetta visit"Published 8 January 2026 · Used to cross-check the visit programme, attendee list, and the schedule of foundation-stone and inauguration events.
  5. Supplementary source — DNA wire via Centreline: "PM Shehbaz unveils multi-billion rupee development plan for Balochistan"Published 8 January 2026 · The provincial press pool's release, corroborating the federal Radio Pakistan announcements.